Kluber wins 2014 AL Cy Young award, and Kershaw wins NL

The 2014 MLB post season awards were announced today, and Cleveland Indians’ starting pitcher Corey Kluber won his first AL Cy Young award on Wednesday night. Dodgers’ starting Clayton Kershaw unanimously won his third NL Cy Young award of his career.

Kluber edged out Mariners starting pitcher Felix Hernandez the — 2010 AL Cy Young Award winner — in one of the closest elections in history. Hernandez had 13 votes first place votes, compared to Kluber’s 17. Chris Sale, White Sox starting pitcher, wasn’t even close.

The starting pitcher from Cleveland put together a career year to edge out Hernandez, including nearly an entire strikeout per nine innings than the King. In fact, Kluber led all of Major League Baseball in WAR with 7.3.

We projected Kluber to win the AL Cy Young award back in September.

Kershaw’s season was impressive from the start, and there was never a doubt that he was going to win the Cy Young award. His numbers all season were impressive, as he led the NL in WAR and was in second to Kluber in the MLB; Kershaw was only 0.1 points behind the AL Cy Young winner.

We projected Kershaw to win the NL Cy Young award back in September.

[twitter-follow screen_name=’sportswithneil’] [twitter-follow screen_name=’nvr93′]